RESERVE: 1.800.367.2525
5 Star Reviews of The Kahala Hotel Resort Honolulu Hawaii


Want to share your experience with us? Tell us!


 “THE Place to stay”

This is what other hotels strive to be. It's outside of Waikiki which we liked. There is a shuttle to take you in for shopping etc. The staff is so gracious, and skilled. Our room was 1205, overlooking the dolphin lagoon. Very spacious, great bathroom (paint needed touching up), large TV that swung out for viewing. This is my favorite hotel to date. Posted on, Stayed September 2015, traveled as a couple

“Heavenly in Honolulu”

The Kahala Hotel and Resort is not in downtown Honolulu in the Waikiki area and that is but one of its great virtues for those who want to spend time away from high rises and the business of Waikiki's version of Rodeo Drive and prefer to be in more of a paradise feeling area. It seems that everyone we met who works at the Kahala has been there for more than 15 years and that, alone, says a lot. Everyone treated us with great care and warmth. The room was beautifully appointed, the bed very comfortable, the view from the balcony lovely, the breakfast buffet excellent. Eating breakfast in a relaxed environment thirty feet from the beach, is heavenly. Every request we made, every question we asked, was met with immediate positive, accurate responses. We were never hurried. One of the concierge staff, Gloria Kennedy, was especially helpful above and beyond the call of duty. It was a wonderful experience from start to finish and we will be happy to return there.
Room Tip: Ocean views are great.
Posted on, Stayed September 2015, traveled as a couple

“The best experience ever”

Me and my husband stayed at kahala for our honeymoon. The choice was perfect. We have to say thanks especially to Julia of pacific dream photography. She is so sweet and she made the most beautiful pictures we have ever had. I recommend the photo shoot to everyone because You take home the best memories ever. Posted on, Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple

“A most wonderful place to stay!”

We were warmly greeted by genuinely friendly staff carrying leis who welcomed us into an exceptionally well-maintained and very beautiful property. Our room was very spacious, with lovely furnishings and linens, two separate sink areas in a luxurious bathroom and stunning golf course views. From the ocean-side restaurants, the wonderful food, the relaxed atmosphere, excellent all-around service, state-of-the-art gym, yoga and fascia classes and lessons on the beach and lovely pool and beach areas -- we couldn't have been happier. The Kahala is a wonderful experience and highly recommended! Posted on, Stayed September 2015, traveled as a couple

“An elegant engagement getaway at the Kahala with wonderful moments captured!”

We had an amazing time at the Kahala celebrating our engagement. Our ocean view room was spectacular and very well kept by housekeeping, the beach is beautiful and the amenities are lovely.

We were particularly impressed by Pacific Dreams Photography, a complimentary professional photography service that the hotel offers. Before arriving in Hawaii I did some research hoping to find a photographer that might capture this special time in our lives but without any first had recommendations it was hard to make a decision on a company. To find that the Kahala offered this service allowed us to have our photos taken without the financial commitment up front and purchase the photos that we loved individually afterwards. The photographer, Julia, was very talented and we were incredibly impressed with her photos. Lauryn helped us with the selection process and was awesome, as well!

Everyone at Dolphin Quest was very informative whenever we had questions and my Dolphin Dip was unforgettable. I do feel 1 or 2 photos should be included with the package rather than charging extra for them.

Sean from the Seaside Grill was incredibly attentive and helpful and made our experience unforgettable. We also really enjoyed Anthony "Tony" from the Italian restaurant. We tried all of the restaurants on our stay and were happy with them overall.

We did find that it was tacky to "charge for shade" as one of the towel assistants put it. Most of the tents and shaded chairs were empty during the slow season and when you pay $600+ for a room and high prices for drinks and food, it would be nice if they offered beach umbrellas or some option for shade rather than everyone having to huddle under the one tree on the beach where the sand wasn't as nice and it was hard to get service. I also found the shuttle reverse beeping to be disruptive and the beach groomer was quite loud while we were trying to enjoy the sunrise in the morning.

Overall we were very happy with the hotel and would recommend it to friends as a high end option in beautiful Honolulu. Posted on, Stayed October 2015, traveled as a couple

“Peace, comfort and luxury!”

Stayed only for 2 nights. Decided we wanted to end our 18-day holiday with some beach time and comfort. The Kahala did not disappoint. It far exceeded our expectations. From the moment we checked-in until we left the hotel, the hotel staff were consistently very helpful, courteous and welcoming (special mention to James at the reception who tried to accommodate our needs as we have been on the road for two weeks). Overall, very attentive staff. The rooms were luxurious and spacious. I love the double vanities and two separate wardrobe closets!!! The pool and beach did not feel overcrowded and noisy as there were enough provisions for the guests. We thoroughly enjoyed the restaurants (Hoku's and Arancino) at the hotel. Great food and excellent service. Probably the best in the island! Breakfast was pleasantly relaxing with a beautiful view of the beach. Unlike other big resorts we've stayed at, were you had to endure the long queues, uncontrolled children, and just too much activity going on. The best thing we loved about this hotel is its quiet residential location. Far away from the crowded beaches of Waikiki. The only disappointment we've had is not to be able to stay here a lot longer. The good part, we've found our hotel in Oahu! Will most definitely stay at The Kahala again! Posted on, Stayed September 2015, traveled as a couple

“First Class Hotel on Oahu”

Really good hotel and resort, friendly staff and good service, kids friendly, there are sea turtles and dolphins in the resort which are open for all guests. However, I don't like the Kahala Beach as much as Waikiki Beach, it is too quite, this hotel may not be your first choice if you enjoy city life. Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
Posted on, Stayed October 2015, traveled as a couple


We had the pleasure of staying at the Kahala a few years ago.

Everything from the valets to the rooms were wonderful! The outstanding breakfast started out our day. The Dolphin Quest was great. I only wish We were there right at this moment. We hope to be back very soon! ~ Larry & Kathleen Keller, Northbrook, IL. Testimonial submitted September 4, 2014.

 I enjoyed my spa time and felt completely relaxed.

We stayed at the Kahala's from August 17th until August 23th. We want to thank you all for a great time, your kindness and great and friendly service. I enjoyed my spa time and felt completely relaxed. Many thanks for a wonderful time with warm regards. ~ Dr. Watson and Mrs. Watson, Vleuten, Netherlands. Testimonial submitted August 31, 2014.

“Impeccable service, 5 plus stars!”

We Stayed here last week for 5 nights. I must say the service/employees go out of their way to make sure your stay is as pleasant as it can be. The location is great, away from the hustle of the big city, but central enough to visit any location on the island in a short time. The beach and pool are perfect. There are so many serene and peaceful places to hang out and enjoy this paradise on the property. The breakfast buffet is a great way to start the day. An amazing view accompanies each breakfast. We had dinner at Hoku's (I wrote a separate review) which was the best. The service there was better than many NYC restaurants and the food was just outstanding. Being called by our names at the restaurant was the perfect touch, and the manager will make sure you are taken care of. He was very personable. Little extras like the nightly turndown service, chocolates, bottled water, and the overall friendliness of the staff makes you feel very special, no matter what part of the hotel you are staring in. I can go on, but don't believe any negative reviews. We did have an issue upon check in, but it was rectified beyond our dreams and we thank Flora for that. They will go out of their way to make sure your stay is beyond perfect. Just ask them or tell them and they will react in the right way. If there can be such a rating as 6 stars, I think The Kahala should be the first to get it! If you are visiting Oahu, do yourself a favor and go straight to The Kahala. You will not be disappointed. Trust me, ~ Richard K, Livingston, New Jersery as posted on July 2014.

What an amazing hotel

We were greeted by Linda at the front desk with a warm friendly smile. We had booked a tour through the hotel to the Polynesian Cultural Center. Unfortunately, due to hurricane Iselle and Julio, our tour was cancelled. Between Carolyn (with two phones in her ear) and Mark, they made everything right. Instead, we took the shuttle into Waikiki and walked around town for a while. Thank you so much to everyone at the Kahala for making our days with you special. ~ Mary-Ellen Costa, New Rochelle, NY.  Testimonial Submitted August 2014.

The Kahala Hotel & Resort Guest Images
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Guest Images
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Guest Images
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Guest Images

“Private Paradise”

If you're looking for a resort away from the chaos of Waikiki, this is it. You feel like this is your own private resort. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Staff is wonderful and friendly... The food and atmosphere is second to none. Shuttles are available to take you into Waikiki. Just a wonderful experience.~ Alison R. from Fenton, Michigan.Stay date: February 2014.

“Paradise in Paradise”

I have virtually no complaints about my stay. The staff are amazing. The room was fantastic. They went above and beyond to acknowledge my birthday. The food is exceptional. The views are unreal. We especially loved that the hotel is outside the city. The privacy factor was a huge plus for us. ~Jaime T, Boston, Massachusetts July 12, 2014.

“the best hotel we've been to”

Small but very friendly. Dolphins are a great attraction even if just watching. The staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms are beautiful. The hotel itself is a great place to stay during your vacation. Everything is close by, within a few min of drive. Highly recommend this place!~ Maryna Y., Honolulu, HI as posted on July 2014


Aloha All!! The service was excellent and the 'Aloha Spirit' was encompassing from our arrival to our departure. All the staff from valet, front desk, pool, and restaurants...welcomed us as if it was our 'home away from home' and MORE!!
The room was well appointed, large and wonderful ocean views and large lanai area. Please know not all rooms have a lanai (Balcony)...if important to you, be sure to book a room with a lanai. Location was fabulous, off the mainstream of Waikiki and the beach was clean and in its own alcove. Excellent pool and beach staff, always ensuring if you need another towel, food, beverage, chairs, very attentive and courteous.We ate at Seaside Grill, Plumeria, and The Veranda. The Veranda is a must, try the ahi musubi and short rib tempura...ONOLICIOUS! You will not be disappointed anything that you order at the Veranda. We booked three rooms (8pax)s and everyone agreed the amenities were great but, it was the thoughtful service of the staff making us feel very special and pampered...Our family had a wonderful stay and in one word the staff made it 'MAGICAL'.
On another note, we did the Dolphin Quest...another must...the experience is unbelievable.
If anything for improvement (nothing to do with the hotel) would suggest City or State not sure who is responsible to repave Kahala Avenue before the hotel driveway. Mahalo nui to the associates of The Kahala Hotel and Resort. ~John P., Kaneohe, HI as posted on July 2014

"perfect location and stay”

My husband and I visited The Kahala in June 2014. From the minute we arrived to when we left we felt welcome and well looked after. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. We requested a wheelchair accessible room with wheel in shower and the room was just as requested. The hotel is totally wheel chair accessible and we had no problems getting round anywhere. Cameron on the Concierge desk was extremely helpful finding us a wheelchair accessible trip to Pearl Harbour. We ate in most of the restaurants and the food was always wonderful. We would certainly visit again if we had the chance . ~ Stephen T., UK, as posted on TripAdvisor July 2014

“The perfect resort in Honolulu”

Stayed here on my honeymoon. Definitely want to go back. The place is nice and clean. The staff were always helpful and courteous, especially Cameron at the concierge's desk. He basically booked all of our activities for us. All we had to do was show up. The dolphin encounter is amazing. You can't beat the views. Best of all, we wanted to be out of the very busy Waikiki district. The Kahala is a bit secluded from the madness of the city, but just a short taxi or shuttle ride away. I can't say enough about how much my wife and I enjoyed staying here. We will definitely stay here again on other trips. ~ Quinn951 as posted on June, 2014

The kahala will always hold a special placein our hearts amazing stay and stunning location for our weddinghopefully we will return soon. ~ Stephanie Jones-Neale, Liverpool, UK.

April 2, 2014

We spent 8 days at the resort in earlyMarch 2014 and our experience from arrival with the Valet Staff to thefront counter and the day to day interactions with staff was absolutelyfirst class. We were at easewith the comforts and service and wouldhighly recommend staying atthe Kahala to our friends. We definitelywill make this the place to stay on our next return! ~ Jim & Judy Ristow, Papillion NE. April 2, 2014

March 19, 2014

The Kahala Grill staff was amazing. Chef Patrick and Manager Shane made our dining experience memorable. Thank you!!!!  ~ Deb Becher, Tucson, AZ.

March 2014


Themost beautiful ocean view and a most charming olde world hotel with aunique dolphin pool - Need I say more! Warm, friendly and helpful staffeverywhere added to the delightful experience.

Oceanviewroom is a must. We slept with the windows open - naturalair conditioning with the sound of the ocean waves lulled us to sleep.The walk along the beach was lovely including a small promontory to sitand reflect while soaking in the beauty.

Locationis away from the crowds of Waikiki but fairly close to a small shoppingmall and a short drive from Hawaii Kai and Koko Marina Malls. ~ NSL from Singapore. Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple

February 2014

5 Star

Very niceresort, secluded beach. Staffare friendly. The room is big and veryclean. I really like the factthat they have housekeeping service oftenenough to keep our room cleanand well supplied with towels,shampoo,even leave water bottles for us(for free!). ~ Kimberly P, Honolulu,


Amazing!!! Must stay!!!

The hotel and staff were above and beyond what we expected. The staff is amazing, the hotel has a relaxing atmosphere, it's beautiful and immaculate. The beach area is great. Can't say enough about the staff, truly a wonderful hotel. Dolphin experience was so much fun, great experience for the entire family. Breakfast buffet was excellent, great food, wonderful staff. TripAdvisor - Felicia T(Riverside, California) on 7/4/13. Stay date: Jun 2013

Must stay

The hotel is fantastic,great beach,great views,great rooms,we stayed at the left lwing w partial ocean view but plenty view of the dolphins,the perfect spot,it was wonderfull to stay at the porch watching the dolphins playing and exercising, the breakfast buffet is a must so dont left the opportunity of buying the breakfast package,it cost 20 pp when the real cost is aound 40.great staff,must come bach!, cacoRiodeJaneiro (Rio de Janeiro) on 7/2/13. Stay date: Jul 2013

Very pleasant stay!

Stayed at a gorgeous hotel: spotless room, nice turndown service, friendly people, extensive buffet breakfast, beautiful beach, minimal crowds. Would absolutely stay here again!, yinyan (New Jersey) on 5/26/13

Warm welcome

Twice every year, I vacation at The Kahala. I look forward every time after breakfast in Plumeria Beach House to take jogging in the morning. It is a time that is very quiet and luxurious. This time, we went for a signature massage called The Athletic rebound, and was able to relax very much. Massage loosened slowly deep part of the muscle. It is possible to spend quality time on this stay, I would like to thank everyone of the staff. I am looking forward to my stay in Kahala in winter of this year., CHIDB9 on 7/1/13 Stay date:. Jun 2013

"Awesome Stay"

Just returned from our seventh stay...and it was one of if not the best stay we have had...If you are considering The Kahala, get on their email list. It is definitely worth it. As always, the food was uniformly awesome from the breakfasts, to the Veranda to the fish tacos on the beach. The hotel also delivered a nice bottle of champagne in honor of our user | 2013.06.03

"Elegant, yet relaxed!"

This property is amazing. The beach is perfect for paddle board, snorkel, kayak or just floating. There is a reef off shore where the waves break so the water is like a calm lagoon. The staff absolutely reflect a 5 star hotel, always friendly and asking what they can do for you, from unpacking your bags, bringing extra bottled water, always addressing you by name, having soft tropical music playing in your always clean's just amazing. The beach cabana boys set up your beach chairs and towels (not an extra charge like most resorts) anywhere on the beach that you choose and there's always someone checking if you need drinks or food. The buffet breakfast and dinners were outstanding. It was very hard to leave! user | 2013.06.01

"Amazing & so relaxing!"

The best vacation I've had in some time! The Kahala was the most amazing beach resort I've ever been too. The staff, dining, location & Dolphin lagoon, will have me going back!! user | 2013.05.28

"Our servers, Taryn and Art´╝îmade our dining experience a memorable one."

Both Taryn and Art ensured that all our needs were met with courtesy and professionalism. This was not our first time dining at the Hoku’s and it surely will not be our last., Jon, Honolulu, May 26, 2013

"The Kahala - our Hawaiian home away from home."

We've stayed at The Kahala over twenty times in the last few years and each time it's like coming home to family. From the bell staff, to the front desk, to the beach attendants, the user | 2013.05.26

"Best Vacation Ever!"

The Kahala is a top-notch, 5-star resort, comparable to any in the country. Right on the beach and close to but away from the tumult of Waikiki. Breakfast overlooking the user | 2013.05.26

"What a beautiful place, great beach!"

It was a great hotel, the room are spacious & the restaurants are great s well. They had turtles in captivitie for five years and they just released them. It was fun to watch. user | 2013.05.24

"If there is heaven on earth, I'm sure the Kahala is part of it."

I've been going to the Kahala for over 30 years. I fell in love with the place when I was a student at the University of Hawaii studying Travel Industry Management. Even then, the Kahala set the standard for luxury, grace, service, and setting. It was aspirational to us starving college students as a place that someday we'd either have the chance to work at or stay in.

In my many subsequent visits to Hawaii, the Kahala was always in my itinerary. Just a few weeks ago I made a short two night visit to Oahu and checked in to an ocean front room. I'd forgotten how large they are, how well appointed, how quiet. The guest mix was what you'd expect. Well heeled, sophisticated, international, but nice. No pretentiousness. The staff anticipated and accommodated every request. Quickly, thoughtfully, gracefully. Smiles everywhere. If there is heaven on earth, I'm sure the Kahala is part of it.,  jal52sandiego, San Diego, December 2013

"Best vacation ever!"

My stay at the Kahala hotel was almost too perfect! I couldn't have asked for more. We were greeted immediately upon arrival by very friendly hotel staff, and check in was very smooth. user | 2013.05.24

"The place is very kid friendly."

The property is in a suburban country club setting. They have a beautiful setting on a quiet beach with a small pool and a dolphin sanctuary. The rooms are large and luxurious and the staff in the restaurants, front desk, porters and maids were exceptional. There are a lot of kids at this resort and the place is very kid friendly. You are about a 10 min cab ride from Waikiki if you want to go there and they have a shuttle to the Ali Moana Mall. If you want to be out of the hubbub of Waikiki this is a good choice., RaymondJP, New York, New York, February 2013 - as seen on TripAdvisor

"I have never experienced such hospitality from a hotel."

The staff are like one big family and treat their guests with the same generosity and warmth you would expect from friends. Worth particular mention is the Director of Guest Services, Flora, with whom I hope you have the pleasure of meeting on your stay at the beautiful Kahala Hotel & Resort. The property rooms are wonderful, watching the dolphins on your way to breakfast is a real delight, but ultimately it is the service which makes the Kahala an international standard luxury hotel., hayleyl83, Beirut, Lebanon, February 2013 - as seen on TripAdvisor

"Awesome is the only word!"

Having spent 10+ years in the luxury hotel business, I always look very closely at how a hotel operates (I can't help it!) I was impressed at every turn. From the point of reservation to check in, activities, concierge, dining... they didn't miss a beat! If you're considering a place to stay on Oahu, this is it. Near Waikiki, but far enough out from the crowds and over populated beaches. The staff was exceptionally professional and personable. Housekeeping service was impeccable! The room was always serviced exactly when we would have liked it. And it was done superbly. The beach area is private and beautiful, the dining is outstanding, and the lomi lomi massages were... well... awesome is the only word! FineF00die, All over, February 2013 - as seen on TripAdvisor

"Upon arrival was treated like royalty."

A hotel unlike any other. Wonderful staff–very attentive. Food was out of this world. Best sushi ever! Mango chutney a must on anything but particularly the burger! Hammocks outside were so relaxing and the pools, watching the dolphins were amazing! The rooms overlook the ocean and sleeping with the balcony doors open was like heaven. An absolute must stay when on Honolulu!, Carrie S, Ashland, Ohio, November 2012 - as seen on TripAdvisor